Blogging the Backlog: Little Boy Wedding Suit

In September my amazing big brother was married. It was Oliver’s first wedding, so I decided to go all out and make him a three piece suit.

In the stash was a lovely grey pinstripe wool blend of some variety that I’d been given, then for the linings and bowtie I found these adorable robots from Spoonflower. I love Spoonflower, the idea is just lovely and there are so many beautiful designs and of course, Doctor Who fabrics!

For starters I used Melly Sews Toddler Blazer for the jacket, she’s since changed her brand and improved the pattern, but it was excellent to sew. I was expecting it to be much more difficult than it was, being more tailored than most of Oliver’s things but it was lovely. Her patterns and directions were fabulous and the jacket came together quite easily. So easily in fact, I made a second later on.

The pants were the always wonderful Oliver + S Sailboat pants, extended to full length. I adore this pattern. It’s simple and lovely to sew and creates such a wonderful result. Lovely little tailored pants with interesting details. I’ve made these over and over again in shorts and three quarters as well. Next up is playing with it a bit more, I’ve seen some lovely bloomer shorts..

I decided not to hem them until the last minute, he has a wonderful habit of having growth spurts at awkward times.

Hemming the Suit

The waistcoat was self-drafted, needs a bit of tweaking at the shoulders, but turned out pretty awesome. I used the amazing Max California’s waistcoat tutorial, she has so many amzing projects.

The bow tie was from a Prudent Baby tutorial . I was aiming for a bit oversized, because why not, and it shows off the robots. He loves it. I think I’m pretty blessed really to have a boy who doesn’t mind dressing up, especially since the Doctor wears a bowtie.

So I think he looked pretty smashing at the wedding, this was teamed with his super awesome Batman Chuck Taylors and we had a fabulous night.

About Emma

21. mother. student. crafter.

Leave a Reply

Crafty Companion

cross stitch with a geek flair

Coletterie

sewing and stitching to somewhere better

sewing and stitching to somewhere better

:: paunnet ::

sewing and stitching to somewhere better

sewing and stitching to somewhere better

Aunt Peaches

sewing and stitching to somewhere better

Cirque Du Bebe

sewing and stitching to somewhere better

Made By Rae

sewing and stitching to somewhere better

MADE

sewing and stitching to somewhere better

Oh Happy Day!

sewing and stitching to somewhere better

skirt as top

suō ergo sum :: i sew, therefore i am

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

